Green Island Ferry Cost And The Reef Tax Explained
Every Green Island ticket price quietly bundles or omits different things. Here is what the reef tax is, who charges it, and what each cruise listing on this site actually states as included.
Short answer
The Environmental Management Charge is A$8.50 per person for a full day in the Marine Park and A$4.25 part day, rising to A$9.00 and A$4.50 from 1 April 2027. Day cruise fares on this site run from A$110 to A$167 per person, and each listing states its own inclusions.
Ferry tickets to Green Island are sold at prices that look almost identical and then diverge sharply once you are on the island. Two listings at A$110 per person sit beside a Discovery fare at A$156, and the difference between them is rarely the boat. It is what the fare bundles: snorkel gear, a glass-bottom boat seat, a buffet lunch, a hotel transfer, or none of the above. Layered into every one of those prices is a government charge most visitors have never heard of, the Environmental Management Charge, which the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority requires permit holders to collect and remit. For many visitors the snorkel gear and glass-bottom seat matter mainly because of what they might reveal, and our guide to spotting sea turtles around Green Island explains what sightings are actually likely.
This guide untangles both layers. It explains what the reef tax is, at what rates, and when it rises, then walks through what each of the nine Green Island day cruise listings on this site actually states as included, using "Not stated" wherever a listing is silent rather than guessing. It draws on the operator's own published fares, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority's charge rules, and Queensland Parks' island guide. For a broader look across every tour type, the Green Island tours compared guide covers sailing, diving and fly-cruise options as well.
What Is The Environmental Management Charge?
The Environmental Management Charge, usually called the reef tax or EMC, is a per person charge every operator holding a Great Barrier Reef Marine Park permit must collect from passengers and remit quarterly. For a full day in the Marine Park it is A$8.50 per person per day, for a part-day trip A$4.25, and from 1 April 2027 those rates rise to A$9.00 and A$4.50.
The charge is not an operator fee dressed up as a tax. It is set out by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority on its official charges page, which states the full-day and part-day rates, the three-hour threshold for a full-day charge, and the April 2027 increase. The money funds day-to-day management of the Marine Park, including field management, compliance and research, and it applies to adults and children alike once a child is old enough to be counted, which on the Great Adventures fare table means four years and over.
How the charge reaches your wallet varies by operator, and this is where confusion creeps in. Great Adventures publishes its position plainly: the EMC "is included in the fare price", so a passenger buying the A$112 ferry transfer is not asked for an extra A$8.50 at check-in. Big Cat's two transfer-inclusive listings on this site, the city transfers and Northern Beaches transfers day trips, both list the Environmental Management Charge, described there as the Reef Tax, among the inclusions. Several other listings say nothing about the charge at all, and for those the honest answer is that the listing does not state it and you should check the booking page before assuming either way.
| Trip length | EMC per person | From 1 April 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| Full day (3 hours or more, entering before 5 pm) | A$8.50 | A$9.00 |
| Part day (under 3 hours) | A$4.25 | A$4.50 |
One practical consequence: a price gap of a few dollars between two half-day listings can be entirely explained by whether the EMC is already inside the printed fare or added on top. If you want a fuller treatment of who pays and who does not, the companion blog post do I pay reef tax on a Green Island trip works through the scenarios in detail.

How Much Does The Green Island Ferry Cost?
The nine Green Island day cruise listings on this site run from A$110 to A$167 per person, with the cheapest tickets being the Big Cat full day, the Big Cat half days and the Big Cat later start, all from A$110. The most reviewed listing, the Great Adventures catamaran at 4.4 from 1,933 reviews, starts from A$112, and the transfer-inclusive Big Cat day trips sit at A$157 and A$167.
That spread is the answer to most "why does the same island cost different amounts" questions. Every boat lands on the same jetty roughly 45 minutes after leaving Cairns, and every fare includes the return catamaran crossing. What separates A$110 from A$167 is not the crossing but the add-ons. The base Big Cat fares are essentially transfers with your choice of activity bolted on, while the transfer-inclusive listings fold in hotel pickup and drop-off, and the Great Adventures Discovery fare at A$156 bundles both snorkel gear and a glass-bottom boat tour rather than a choice between them.
The operator's own fare table, published at green-island.com.au/fares-and-prices with prices valid 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027, shows the same ladder from the source: ferry transfer A$112, Eco Tour A$127, Discovery Tour A$156 and the island and outer reef adventure at A$343, with a fuel surcharge of A$10 adult on the outer reef products. Those operator fares are the publisher's own prices, distinct from the listing prices on this site, and both are legitimate ways to buy the same seats.
| Listing | From (per person) | Rating and reviews | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| Big Cat full day | A$110 | 4.5 from 1,727 reviews | 8 hours |
| Big Cat later start | A$110 | 4.3 from 273 reviews | 6 hours |
| Big Cat morning half day | A$110 | 4.1 from 469 reviews | 4 hours |
| Big Cat afternoon half day | A$110 | 4.3 from 473 reviews | 4 hours |
| Great Adventures catamaran | A$112 | 4.4 from 1,933 reviews | 5 to 9 hours |
| Great Adventures half day | A$127 | 4.1 from 335 reviews | 6 hours |
| Great Adventures discovery | A$156 | 4.2 from 410 reviews | 7 hours |
| Big Cat city transfers | A$157 | 4.5 from 23 reviews | 8 hours |
| Big Cat beaches transfers | A$167 | 4.5 from 14 reviews | 8 hours |
Note the review pools honestly: the two transfer-inclusive listings carry 4.5 ratings but from 23 and 14 reviews respectively, a small sample rather than a verdict, while the Big Cat full day and the Great Adventures catamaran ratings rest on well over a thousand reviews each.
If you are weighing the cheapest option against the most convenient, the Big Cat Green Island cruise guide goes deeper on that operator's fare structure, and the Green Island day trip from Cairns guide covers the planning end to end.
What Does Each Ticket Actually Include?
No two Green Island listings state the same inclusions. The Great Adventures catamaran fare lets you choose cruise only or cruise plus a glass-bottom boat or snorkel gear, the Big Cat full day includes snorkelling or a glass-bottom boat tour with lunch as a selectable option, and only the two Big Cat transfer listings state hotel pickup as included.
The table is the heart of this guide, so it is worth reading carefully. Where a listing is silent on an item, the table records "Not stated", because silence is not the same as exclusion. Meal treatment alone spans four different positions: morning tea and coffee on the Great Adventures boats, buffet lunch as a paid option on the Big Cat full days, lunch included outright on the fly-and-cruise package, and plain "available to purchase" on the half days. Gear is similarly uneven. The Discovery fare at A$156 is the only standard day cruise that states both snorkelling equipment and a glass-bottom boat tour as included; most others offer one or the other.
| Listing | Hotel pickup | Meal | Snorkel gear | Glass-bottom | Semi-sub | EMC stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great Adventures catamaran | Not stated | Morning tea on board | Choice option | Choice option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Big Cat full day | Not stated | Lunch as option | Choice option | Choice option | Option | Not stated |
| Big Cat later start | Not included | Lunch as option | Option | Option | Option | Not stated |
| Big Cat morning half day | Not included | Available to buy | Choice option | Choice option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Big Cat afternoon half day | Not included | Available to buy | Choice option | Choice option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Great Adventures discovery | Not included | Morning tea on board | Included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Great Adventures half day | Not included | Morning tea on board | Choice option | Choice option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Big Cat city transfers | Included | Buffet as option | Choice option | Choice option | Option | Included |
| Big Cat beaches transfers | Included | Buffet as option | Choice option | Choice option | Option | Included |
Two honest cautions come with that grid. First, "Choice option" means the listing gives you a selection at booking, not that both items come in the base fare, so decide before you pay. Second, the semi-submarine appears as a selectable extra on several Big Cat listings, and the Northern Beaches listing prices the optional extras payable locally, including an introductory scuba dive at AU$152, the Seawalker helmet dive at AU$165 and the semi-submersible coral viewing tour at AU$20, described as the operator's own published add-on fares. Booking optional activities locally is always subject to availability on the day.
For the fine detail on the two glass-window experiences, the glass-bottom boat and semi-submarine guide compares what each one shows and who each suits.

The half-day question deserves its own word, because the four-hour Big Cat morning and afternoon listings are the cheapest way onto the water and also the tightest for time. The Green Island half day tour guide works through whether four hours is enough for what you want to do.
Is Hotel Pickup Worth Paying Extra For?
Of the Green Island tours compared here, only two state hotel pickup as included: the Big Cat city transfers day trip at A$157 and the Northern Beaches version at A$167, and both fold the Environmental Management Charge into the price as well. Every other option either states pickup as not included or is silent, which means making your own way to the terminal at 1 Spence Street, Cairns.
Whether that premium of roughly A$47 over the base fare is worth it depends almost entirely on where you are sleeping and whether you have a car. Cairns is compact, and the Reef Fleet Terminal sits at the bottom of the Esplanade, a walk of a few minutes from most central hotels and about 10 to 15 minutes by road from the airport. If your accommodation is in the city centre, the base fare plus a short walk will usually win. From the Northern Beaches, the calculus changes, and the A$167 beaches listing starts to look like convenience priced fairly rather than a mark-up.
There is also a third path the listings do not advertise heavily. The Big Cat operator sells coach transfers separately from the cruise fare, at A$27 adult return from Cairns city hotels and A$38 from the Northern Beaches, per the operator's own published transfer prices, and Great Adventures lists a Cairns coach transfer at A$36 on its fare page. Those are add-ons to a base ticket rather than part of any listing on this site, so treat them as planning figures and confirm at booking.
Where you check in matters too, and it is not the same door for everyone. Great Adventures passengers check in at the Great Adventures counter inside the Reef Fleet Terminal, while Big Cat now checks passengers in directly at its vessels at Marlin Wharf rather than inside the terminal. The Cairns Reef Fleet Terminal guide covers parking, walking times and the check-in split in detail.

What Extra Costs Wait On The Island?
Even on an all-inclusive-looking fare, three spending categories sit outside the ticket: food beyond what the listing states, optional water activities such as diving and the Seawalker helmet dive, and the paid attractions on the island itself. On the operator's published fare sheet, the glass-bottom boat and snorkel hire are A$32 each as island add-ons, a boat snorkel trip is A$68, and the Seawalker experience is A$205, all payable locally.
These numbers matter before you travel because they change the arithmetic of your fare choice. A base Big Cat ticket at A$110, once you add a locally hired snorkel set at A$32 and an island lunch, puts the Discovery fare at A$156, with snorkel gear and the glass-bottom boat already inside, in a different light: it starts to look like the tidier buy. There is no single right answer, only the one that matches what you actually intend to do on the day. The numbers on this page are the operator's own published fares, so check the live booking page for the current position.
Eating follows the same pattern. The island's venues include Emeralds Restaurant, whose lunch combo is listed at A$41 adult for 11am to 2pm, plus the Canopy Grill, Lite Bites Cafe and Reflections Pool Bar with their own hours, per the operator's facilities page. Some listings soften this with morning tea and coffee served on board until departure from Cairns, which the Great Adventures fares do state, but no standard day cruise listing includes a full lunch except as a stated option or in the higher packages like the fly-and-cruise.
| Optional item | Published island price | Where it appears |
|---|---|---|
| Glass-bottom boat tour | A$32 | Great Adventures fare sheet |
| Snorkel equipment hire | A$32 | Great Adventures fare sheet |
| Boat snorkel trip | A$68 | Great Adventures fare sheet |
| Seawalker helmet dive | A$205 | Great Adventures fare sheet |
| Intro scuba, one dive | A$205 | Great Adventures fare sheet |
| Buffet lunch (Big Cat option) | Selectable at booking | Big Cat listings |
| Lunch combo, Emeralds | A$41 adult | Island facilities page |
Two island experiences sit outside these tours entirely and are worth naming so nobody budgets for the wrong thing. Marineland Melanesia, the family-run crocodile and turtle attraction a short walk from the jetty, is open daily 9am to 4pm with shows around 10.30am and 1.30pm, and entry fees apply separately, though no verified entry price is published here. The Turtle Rehabilitation Centre, whose ceremonial first sod was turned in April 2026, is expected to be operational by December 2026, but it is not open yet and cannot be visited today. The Seawalker and Marineland guide covers both properly.
For snorkellers weighing gear hire against bringing their own, the blog post can I hire a snorkel at Green Island answers exactly that question with the same verified prices.
The two higher-ticket ways to spend the day also deserve a sentence here, since both change what "included" means. The Moore Reef pontoon combo at A$312, rated 4.6 from 98 reviews, bundles a hot and cold buffet lunch with fresh prawns, snorkel gear, lycra suits and three hours at an outer reef platform after two hours at Green Island, the most complete inclusion list of all the Green Island tours compared here. And the Great Adventures discovery fare at A$156, 4.2 from 410 reviews, includes both the glass-bottom boat tour and snorkelling equipment, plus use of the island swimming pool exclusive to that operator's passengers.
Does A Higher Price Mean A Better Day?
Nothing among the Green Island tours compared here suggests that price tracks quality. The strongest rating-to-price pairing is the Big Cat full day at 4.5 from 1,727 reviews for A$110, while the Ocean Free schooner day at 4.9 from 682 reviews costs A$289 for a completely different style of day. Price buys inclusions and format, not a better island or better coral.
This is worth stating plainly because marketing copy implies otherwise. Every catamaran on this route crosses the same 27 km of water, described by Queensland Parks on its Green Island National Park page, and lands at the same national park with the same free walks, the same seagrass where turtles live and feed, and the same no-take marine park rules. The beach walk, boardwalk and jetty walk cost nothing beyond your fare to get there. What the extra dollars buy is labour and equipment: crew in the water with you, a marine biologist presentation, buffet prawns, a window seat on a light aircraft, or a bed on a schooner with a glass of wine on the return sail.
The honest framing is to match the format to the traveller. Families and first-timers are well served by the big-catamaran day cruises where everything can be pre-selected. Keen snorkellers get more from a listing with a boat snorkel trip or the outer reef pontoon. Anyone who wants the slow version, sails up, few dozen passengers, wine on the way home, is looking at the Ocean Free schooner and should not be comparing it to a ferry ticket at all.

How Do The Departure Times Change The Price You Pay?
Great Adventures departs Cairns at 8:30am and 10:30am with returns from the island at 2:30pm and 4:30pm, boarding 30 minutes before departure, while Big Cat runs a 9am full day, an 11am later start, and half days from 9am and 1pm, all returning by about 5pm. The later-start full day at A$110 buys a 6-hour day instead of 8, and the price barely moves between them.
Time is the hidden inclusion. Because the Big Cat fares cluster at A$110 whether you take four hours or eight, the effective hourly cost of the later start is nearly double the morning full day, and that is a legitimate reason to choose the early boat beyond simple enthusiasm. The Great Adventures structure works differently: its half day listing at A$127 gives roughly 6 hours against the full day's up to 7 hours on the island, a smaller gap that suits travellers who want an afternoon in Cairns. Boarding half an hour before departure means an 8:30am sailing wants you at the terminal by 8:00am, which matters if you are arriving in Cairns the same morning, a plan most transfer guides advise against.
| Operator | Departures from Cairns | Returns from island | Listing durations |
|---|---|---|---|
| Great Adventures | 8:30am, 10:30am | 2:30pm, 4:30pm | 5 to 9 hours |
| Big Cat full day | 9am, 11am | About 5pm | 8 hours, 6 hours |
| Big Cat half days | 9am, 1pm | 1pm, 5pm | 4 hours each |
Crossing time is about 45 minutes each way on either operator's fast catamaran, per both operators' own pages, so every listing spends the bulk of its stated duration on the island rather than at sea. That is the quiet advantage of Green Island over outer reef trips, which spend 90 minutes each way reaching pontoon sites, and it is the reason a four-hour half day still delivers more than two hours of island time. If you would rather split your day between both, the combo tours pairing Green Island with the outer reef compare the operators that run both legs in a single booking.
For the full timetable with the ticketing detail, the Green Island ferry times and tickets guide is the dedicated resource, and it pairs with this page's fare breakdown.
What Is Not Included On Any Green Island Fare?
Diving, the Seawalker helmet dive, offshore boat snorkel trips, scenic helicopter flights, canoe and beach equipment hire, Marineland Melanesia entry and island food are not included in the standard day cruise options, and diving can either be paid for locally or booked through one of three dedicated tours compared here. The national park itself charges no entry fee for day visitors arriving on a tour, and the island's walking tracks are free.
The exclusions are worth reading on each listing because they are stated with unusual frankness. The Great Adventures catamaran listing names its optional activities directly: introductory and certified scuba diving, offshore boat snorkel trips, Seawalker helmet diving, canoe, windsurf and beach volleyball hire, and scenic helicopter flights. The Big Cat transfer listings point to optional activities bookable locally, subject to availability, payable on the island. None of that is a hidden trap, it is simply a different purchasing model: the fare covers the crossing and your chosen activity, and everything else is bought on the day.
Travellers who want diving inside the ticket have real options. The dedicated dive listing at A$250 includes scuba diving equipment with an 8-hour day, though its rating of 4.9 rests on just 10 reviews, a pool too small to call proven. The Ocean Free sailing tour with dive options at A$289, 4.8 from 413 reviews, includes top-quality snorkelling gear with wetsuits and lycra suits and one or two scuba dives depending on the option. The Green Island intro dive and scuba guide walks first-timers through the medical and practical requirements.
One exclusion nobody should overlook is protection from marine stingers, which the operator listings handle differently. The pontoon combo lists lycra suits as included and the Ocean Free dive listing includes wetsuits and lycra suits, but the standard day cruises are largely silent on stinger suit supply. Queensland Parks advises that marine stingers may be present in coastal waters at any month and occur more frequently in the warmer months, and Cairns Regional Council flags November to June as the period of particular concern, so in those months confirm suit availability with the operator before you sail. The stinger season guide covers suits, seasons and swim flags in full.

How Do You Compare Fares Honestly Before Booking?
Line up three things side by side: the printed from-price, the stated inclusions and the review count behind the rating, and treat any silence on a tour page as a question for the operator rather than a promise. A fare that states free cancellation, which every tour on this site does, is a fare you can lock in early and re-price later without penalty.
Start with the total day budget rather than the ticket. A half day at A$110, plus hired gear at A$32, plus an island lunch at A$41, adds up quickly, and the Discovery fare at A$156 that already includes the gear and the glass-bottom boat, leaving only food to buy, can be the tidier purchase. Run that arithmetic for your own must-do list before assuming the cheapest tour is the cheapest day, because the price ladder across the Green Island tours compared here, from A$110 to A$429, is a ladder of formats, not of quality. If you want help sorting yourself into a format, the Green Island Great Barrier Reef Tours homepage trip picker exists for exactly this comparison.
Second, check the live booking page for today's details. Fares here come from published from-prices and operator fare tables, but optional extras, fuel surcharges and availability move with the season, and the Great Adventures fuel surcharge already shows how a fixed fare can carry a dated add-on. Every tour on this site offers free cancellation, so booking early and adjusting later carries little risk, and the operator's booking page is the place to confirm current inclusions before you pay.
Finally, be sceptical of any page that prints a bare rating with no review count. A 4.9 is excellent from 682 reviews, as the Ocean Free schooner holds, and nearly meaningless from 10, as the dive listing's small pool shows. Every rating on this page travels with its count for that reason, and recording silence as silence, the standard used throughout this guide, is the approach every buyer should demand.
Common Questions About Green Island Ferry Cost And The Reef Tax
Is the reef tax included in the Green Island ferry cost?
Great Adventures states the Environmental Management Charge is included in its fare price, and the two Big Cat transfer listings list the Reef Tax among their inclusions. Most other listings on this site do not state either way, so check the booking page before you pay, and expect A$8.50 for a full day or A$4.25 part day if it is added separately.
How much is the Green Island ferry from Cairns?
The nine day cruise listings on this site run from A$110 to A$167 per person. The operator's own fare table starts the ferry transfer at A$112 adult, with the Eco Tour at A$127 and the Discovery Tour at A$156, valid 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027.
Does the reef tax go up in 2027?
Yes. From 1 April 2027 the Environmental Management Charge rises to A$9.00 per person for a full day and A$4.50 part day, up from the current A$8.50 and A$4.25. The rise is set by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and applies across all permitted operators.
Is lunch included on a Green Island day cruise?
Usually not in the base fare. The Big Cat full-day cruise offers buffet lunch as a selectable option, Great Adventures includes morning tea and coffee on board, and the half-day options have food and drinks available to purchase. The Moore Reef pontoon combo and the fly-and-cruise package are the exceptions, both with a buffet lunch included.
Do any Green Island tours include hotel pickup?
Only two. The Big Cat city transfers day trip at A$157 and the Northern Beaches transfers day trip at A$167 both list hotel pickup and drop-off as included, and both also list the Reef Tax. Every other listing either states pickup as not included or is silent, so plan your own way to 1 Spence Street.
What is not included on a standard Green Island ticket?
Diving, the Seawalker helmet dive, offshore boat snorkel trips, helicopter flights, beach equipment hire, Marineland Melanesia entry and island meals are excluded from the standard day cruises, either payable locally or through dedicated listings like the dive day tour at A$250.