Green Island Tours Compared: Every Day Trip Type Side By Side

Sixteen bookable listings cover Green Island, spread across two cruise operators, a sailing company and a fly-cruise package. This guide lines them all up by format, price, duration and inclusions so the choice comes down to what you actually want from the day.

A catamaran moored beside a timber jetty at a green tropical island in calm blue water

Short answer

Green Island tours run from A$110 to A$429 per person. The cheapest verified fares are the Big Cat full day and half days at A$110; the most reviewed listing is the Great Adventures catamaran at 4.4 from 1,933 reviews, from A$112. Combos, sailing and fly-cruise options sit between A$196 and A$429.

Which Green Island Tour Should You Book?

Sixteen bookable products serve Green Island from Cairns, and they sort cleanly into eight formats: cruise-only, cruise with snorkel or glass-bottom choice, semi-submarine options, hotel-transfer packages, outer reef combos, a two-island day, sailing trips with optional diving, and a fly-cruise package. Verified prices run from A$110 to A$429 per person, and the right pick depends on budget, sea time tolerance and whether you want gear included.

The island sits 27 km offshore from Cairns. The boat crossing takes about 45 minutes whichever tour you book, so the ride out is much the same experience everywhere. What separates the Green Island tours compared here is what happens on either side of that crossing: how long you get on the island, whether snorkel gear or a glass-bottom boat ride is bundled into the fare, whether lunch is included, and whether anyone collects you from your hotel. Those differences explain a price spread that runs from the Big Cat half days at A$110 up to the GSL Aviation fly-and-cruise package at A$429.

Two operators carry most of the load. Great Adventures, part of the Quicksilver Group, runs fast catamarans from the Reef Fleet Terminal at 1 Spence Street, with its most reviewed listing sitting at 4.4 from 1,933 reviews. Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises checks passengers in directly at its vessels at Marlin Wharf, and its full-day listing carries 4.5 from 1,727 reviews. Around them sit the Ocean Free schooner trips, a Moore Reef pontoon combo, a Fitzroy and Green Island double, a dedicated scuba listing and a Seawalker helmet dive. This guide, published by Green Island Great Barrier Reef Tours, compares all of them on the same terms.

Before the detail, one honest framing note: the 16 listings overlap heavily because the same two boat operators sell the same crossings at several fare levels and durations. Throughout this page, two Big Cat listings or two Great Adventures listings are genuinely different products, with different departure times, inclusions and transfer arrangements, and we never merge them. If you want the narrower question of walking on without a tour at all, our piece on going to Green Island independently covers the ferry-only route.

How Every Listing Compares By Operator And Format

The Green Island tours compared here break into nine island day cruises, four reef combos and specialty trips, and three diving or helmet options. Great Adventures accounts for four, Big Cat for seven, Ocean Free for two. The Seawalker and fly-cruise products round out the set. Ratings across these tours range from 4.1 to 4.9, and review counts from 10 to 1,933, so popularity signals vary enormously between formats.

The table below lists every one of the 16 products by operator, format and verified from-price. Note the pattern that matters most for value: the four cheapest listings are all Big Cat products at A$110, and the jump to A$157 and above comes from transfers, buffet lunch options or bundled activities rather than a better boat.

Tour Operator Format Rating From (pp)
Catamaran, Half or Full Day Great Adventures Cruise with activity choice 4.4 (1,933 reviews) A$112
Big Cat Full Day, Snorkel Choice Big Cat Full day, snorkel or glass-bottom 4.5 (1,727 reviews) A$110
11am Start, Full Day Big Cat Later-start full day 4.3 (273 reviews) A$110
4-Hour Morning Half Day Big Cat Morning half day 4.1 (469 reviews) A$110
Afternoon Half Day Big Cat Afternoon half day 4.3 (473 reviews) A$110
Snorkel and Glass-Bottom Boat Included Great Adventures Both activities included 4.2 (410 reviews) A$156
6 Hours, Snorkel or Glass Bottom Great Adventures Half day, activity choice 4.1 (335 reviews) A$127
City Hotel Transfers Included Big Cat Full day with transfers 4.5 (23 reviews) A$157
Northern Beaches Transfers Big Cat Full day, beaches transfers 4.5 (14 reviews) A$167
Buffet Lunch, Moore Reef Platform Great Adventures Island plus outer reef combo 4.6 (98 reviews) A$312
Two Islands, One Day Big Cat Fitzroy and Green Island 4.1 (187 reviews) A$196
Reef Flight Plus Cruise Combo GSL Aviation and Big Cat Scenic flight plus full day 4.4 (127 reviews) A$429
Schooner Cruise, Wine on Return Ocean Free Small-group sailing 4.9 (682 reviews) A$289
Small-Group Schooner, Optional Dive Ocean Free Sailing with dive options 4.8 (413 reviews) A$289
Full Day, Scuba Equipment Included Big Cat Full day with scuba gear 4.9 (10 reviews) A$250
Seawalker Helmet, No Swimming Great Adventures Helmet dive package 4.1 (98 reviews) A$289
A glass-bottom boat drifting over coral reef in clear shallow water beside a tropical island

Three ways to read that table. First, review count matters as much as the score: the Ocean Free schooner's 4.9 from 682 reviews is a strong signal, while the Big Cat dive tour's 4.9 comes from just 10 reviews, a small pool that deserves caution. Second, the two Big Cat transfer options score 4.5 from only 23 and 14 reviews respectively; encouraging numbers, thin samples. Third, no Green Island tour compared here promises wildlife sightings, and none should: turtles, rays and reef fish are wild, and a quiet day is always possible.

If you are choosing between just the three most compared listings, the short version is this. The Great Adventures catamaran is the most reviewed product on the island and the most flexible on duration, with half and full day options and a choice of fare that includes a glass-bottom boat or snorkel equipment. The Big Cat full day undercuts it slightly and includes snorkelling or a glass-bottom boat tour in the base fare. The Ocean Free sailing trip with optional diving is a different animal entirely: a 9-hour small-group day on a schooner, at 4.8 from 413 reviews, with lunch and a large smorgasbord spread described in the listing. Our deeper Big Cat cruise review unpacks that operator's five listings one by one.

What Each Price And Duration Actually Buys

A$110 to A$112 buys the bare crossing plus one basic activity, A$127 to A$167 buys longer or better-bundled island days, A$196 to A$289 buys two-island trips, diving, sailing and helmet products, and A$312 to A$429 buys outer reef combos or the fly-cruise. Duration runs separately from price, spanning 4-hour half days to the 9.5-hour fly-cruise, so cheap does not mean short.

The critical fact hiding in the price column: the A$110 Big Cat fares and the A$112 Great Adventures fare are both crossing-plus-choice products, but the durations differ sharply. A 4-hour Big Cat half day gives you roughly two hours on the island after the 45-minute crossing each way; the Great Adventures full day gives up to 7 hours of leisure time. Paying A$2 less for the Big Cat full day over the Great Adventures fare is only a bargain if the Big Cat schedule, 9am or 11am departures with a late return, suits your day better.

Tour Duration Max island time Lunch Hotel pickup
Catamaran, Half or Full Day 5 to 9 hours Up to 7 hours Morning tea only; buy on island Not stated
Big Cat Full Day 8 hours About 5.5 hours Optional, not in base fare Not included
11am Start, Full Day 6 hours About 4 hours Optional extra Not included
4-Hour Morning Half Day 4 hours About 2 hours Available to purchase Not included
Afternoon Half Day 4 hours About 2 hours Available to purchase Not included
Snorkel and Glass-Bottom Included 7 hours Most of the day Morning tea only; not included Not included
6 Hours, Snorkel or Glass Bottom 6 hours About 4.5 hours Morning tea only; not included Not included
City Hotel Transfers 8 hours About 5.5 hours Buffet lunch optional Included, Cairns city
Northern Beaches Transfers 8 hours About 5.5 hours Buffet lunch optional Included, Northern Beaches
Moore Reef Platform Combo 8 hours 2 hours island, 3 hours reef Hot and cold buffet with prawns Not included
Two Islands, One Day 8 hours Over 6 hours across both Boxed or buffet, optional Not stated
Reef Flight Plus Cruise 9.5 hours Full day cruise segment Buffet lunch included Courtesy bus, airport to terminal
Ocean Free Schooner 9 hours Day on the water Lunch, morning and afternoon tea Not included
Schooner With Dive Options 9 hours Day on the water Large smorgasbord lunch Not stated
Full Day With Diving 8 hours About 5.5 hours Buffet optional Not stated
Seawalker Helmet Dive 7 hours Most of the day Morning tea only; not included Not included

Lunch deserves a flag, because it is the most common surprise on the day. Only three of the Green Island tours compared here include a proper meal in the inclusions: the Moore Reef pontoon combo with its hot and cold buffet including fresh prawns, the Ocean Free sailing day, and the fly-and-cruise package. Everything else either offers morning tea and coffee only, or sells lunch as a selectable option. If you are comparing an A$110 fare against an A$157 transfer fare, part of that gap is the option of a buffet lunch and a coach from your hotel door.

The Great Adventures tour is the natural baseline for price comparison because it is the most reviewed option among the Green Island tours compared here and its fare structure is the simplest to reason about: choose cruise only, or cruise with a glass-bottom boat or snorkel equipment included, then decide half or full day. Free cancellation applies. Check availability alongside the internal Great Adventures tour page if that flexibility is what you are after.

The infographic below compresses the price ladder across the Green Island tours compared here into one view.

Chart of the 16 Green Island tours grouped by price from A$110 to A$429 per person
The four price steps across the Green Island tours compared here: basic crossings at A$110 to A$112, bundled island days at A$127 to A$167, specialty products at A$196 to A$289, and the outer reef combo and fly-cruise at A$312 to A$429.

Cruise Only, Snorkel Or Glass-Bottom: Choosing Your Base Fare

Every base fare among the Green Island tours compared here comes down to one choice: cruise only, cruise with snorkel gear, or cruise with a glass-bottom boat tour. The Big Cat fares and the Great Adventures catamaran let you pick snorkel or glass-bottom at the same price, while the A$156 Great Adventures discovery-style option includes both. Decide whether you will actually get in the water before you pay for the option.

The glass-bottom boat is the quiet workhorse of Green Island tourism. It suits non-swimmers, nervous children, anyone who wants to see coral without wriggling into a wetsuit, and travellers in stinger season who would rather stay dry. Snorkel gear suits the confident and the curious, and Green Island's snorkel zone, between the red and yellow flags as the Queensland Parks guide instructs, sits close enough to shore that it is a genuinely low-effort swim. Our dedicated glass-bottom boat and semi-submarine guide compares the viewing options in detail.

Snorkellers floating above coral bommies in calm turquoise water near a sandy beach

Here is the comparison that saves the most money. The A$110 Big Cat full day includes a choice of snorkelling or the glass-bottom boat in the base fare. The Great Adventures catamaran at A$112 offers the same choice as a fare option: cruise only, or cruise with glass-bottom or snorkel equipment. Meanwhile, Great Adventures' own island prices list the glass-bottom boat at A$32 per adult as an add-on, and snorkel hire at A$32, so a cruise-only fare plus a paid activity can still land close to the bundled fare. The arithmetic only works one way per traveller, so price your specific activity choice rather than trusting the from-price.

For the snorkelling-included end of the range, the A$156 Great Adventures listing bundles both the glass-bottom boat tour and snorkelling equipment, plus use of the island swimming pool exclusive to Great Adventures passengers and a free beach bag. That is the fare for people who want to do everything without deciding in advance. Its 4.2 rating from 410 reviews sits slightly below the cheaper catamaran listing's 4.4 from 1,933, a reminder that more inclusions do not automatically mean a better-reviewed day. If the water itself is your main interest, read our longer piece on whether Green Island has good snorkelling before committing.

Semi-Submarine, Seawalker And Scuba: The Add-On Decisions

Three add-ons stand out: the Seawalker helmet dive at A$289 requires no swimming ability, while Big Cat's full day with diving costs A$250 and includes scuba gear, backed by a 4.9 rating from only 10 reviews. Ocean Free's A$289 dive-option sailing day offers one or two intro or certified dives aboard a schooner, and semi-submarine tours appear as selectable options on several Big Cat fares rather than as standalone products.

The Seawalker helmet dive is the most distinctive of the Green Island tours compared here: a helmet keeps your head dry while you walk the seabed, no swimming required, all packaged with a Great Adventures cruise and a choice of glass-bottom boat or snorkelling. Its 4.1 rating across 98 reviews sits mid-table, yet no other tour on this site offers the same format, and it is the obvious pick for travellers whose partner snorkels while they would rather not. The Seawalker and Marineland guide covers what the experience promises and what it does not.

A diver in a helmet walking on a sandy seabed beside coral in clear water

Scuba is more fragmented. The Big Cat dive listing includes the scuba diving equipment and pairs it with snorkel gear or a glass-bottom ride, but its 4.9 rating rests on just 10 reviews, and an honest comparison says so plainly rather than calling it top rated. The Ocean Free alternative is stronger on evidence, 4.8 from 413 reviews, and its listing notes that diving must be pre-booked only if you have no medical conditions or medication, some of which preclude diving. The verified island fare table also lists an introductory scuba dive from operators at A$205 as a bookable extra on the island, which is the third route: take a cheap base cruise and add the dive locally, subject to availability.

Diving and helmet products all carry the standard caveat of the marine park: nothing is guaranteed underwater. The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority's responsible reef practices prohibit touching, chasing or feeding wildlife, and operators will brief you on the same rules. What the listings sell is equipment, instruction and access; what you meet on the day is up to the ocean.

Combos: Two Islands, Outer Reef Pontoon And Fly-Cruise

Four combo tours package Green Island into a bigger day out: an A$196 two-island option splits 6 hours between Fitzroy and Green Islands, the A$312 Moore Reef pontoon pairs 2 island hours with 3 hours at an outer reef activity platform plus buffet lunch (rated 4.6 from 98 reviews), and the A$429 fly-cruise adds a 40-minute reef flight with guaranteed window seats to a full Big Cat day including buffet lunch.

Among the Green Island tours compared here, the pontoon combo answers the hardest question, island or outer reef, by refusing to choose. Two hours on Green Island with snorkel equipment included, then three hours at an outer reef platform with lycra suits, buoyancy vests, a marine biologist presentation and a hot and cold buffet with fresh prawns. It is also the highest-rated of the four combos at 4.6 from 98 reviews. The broader trade-off between island days and outer pontoon days is unpacked in the guide to island versus outer reef snorkelling from Cairns.

A high-wing light aircraft flying over turquoise reef water and a small green island

The two-island day is the value play among combos: 8 hours, over 6 of them on the water across Fitzroy and Green Islands, expert commentary on both, and a glass-bottom boat at Fitzroy if you select that option, from A$196. The catch is in the meal line: boxed lunch at Fitzroy or buffet at Green Island are optional extras, so budget for food. The fly-cruise sits at the other extreme. At A$429 it is the most expensive of the Green Island tours compared here, and at 9.5 hours the longest, combining a 40-minute Reef Hopper flight with pilot commentary, a full Big Cat day with buffet lunch and glass-bottom or snorkel, and the use of the Big Cat vessel as an air-conditioned base while on the island.

One planning note that applies to all four combos: none of the reef-health facts about the outer platform should be read as a Green Island measurement. The Australian Institute of Marine Science reports regional figures, and its 2025/26 summary shows Northern Great Barrier Reef hard coral cover at 35.1%, up from 30.0% and above the long-term average of 27.0%, published in the AIMS condition summary. That is a Northern region number, not a promise about any single snorkel site, and no official Green Island-specific survey exists.

Who Each Green Island Tour Suits

Match the listing to the traveller, not the rating. Budget and independent travellers land on the A$110 Big Cat fares, families with young children on the half days or the transfer packages, snorkellers on the A$156 both-included fare, divers on the schooner, non-swimmers on the Seawalker, and once-only visitors with a big budget on the fly-cruise or the pontoon combo. The table below pairs every format with its natural buyer.

If you are... Best-fit listing Why
On the tightest budget Big Cat full day, A$110 Cheapest verified fare with an activity included
Short on time Big Cat morning or afternoon half day, A$110 4 hours door to dock, back by early afternoon
Wanting the most reviewed trip Great Adventures catamaran, A$112 4.4 from 1,933 reviews, half or full day
Without a car or staying in the city City Hotel Transfers listing, A$157 Hotel pickup and drop-off included, one of only two
Staying at Palm Cove or Trinity Beach Northern Beaches Transfers, A$167 The only tour on this site with Northern Beaches pickup
Wanting to snorkel and ride the boat window Great Adventures both-included, A$156 Snorkel gear and glass-bottom boat both bundled
A non-swimmer or nervous in the sea Seawalker helmet dive, A$289 Helmet dive with no swimming required
Keen to dive Ocean Free dive-option schooner, A$289 4.8 from 413 reviews, one or two dives
Unable to choose island or reef Moore Reef pontoon combo, A$312 2 hours island, 3 hours outer reef, buffet lunch
Spending up for one big day Fly and cruise, A$429 Reef flight with window seat plus full day cruise

Two of these deserve a second sentence. The transfer-inclusive tours are the only two options compared here that include hotel pickup; every other Green Island tour either states pickup is not included or stays silent on the question, and silence means you make your own way to Marlin Wharf or the Reef Fleet Terminal at 1 Spence Street. And the half-day fares, at 4.1 and 4.3 from reviews in the high hundreds, score consistently below their full-day siblings, which tracks with the physics of the trip: two hours on a 45-minute-each-way crossing leaves little margin for a swim, a walk and lunch.

A family walking a timber boardwalk through dense rainforest on a small tropical island

For the deeper question of how long a day the island rewards, our guide to how long to spend on Green Island works through the half-day versus full-day trade-off with the walking tracks in mind. Queensland Parks grades all three island walks as Easy: a 1.5 km beach circuit allowing an hour, a 1.3 km boardwalk return allowing 50 minutes, and a 500 m jetty walk return allowing 30 minutes, per the official park page. A half day barely fits a walk plus a swim; a full day fits both comfortably.

What The Listings Leave Out: Reef Tax, Lunch And Fine Print

Every tour on this site carries free cancellation, but three details hide in the fine print. The Environmental Management Charge is A$8.50 per person for a full day and is stated as included on the two Big Cat transfer listings; most other listings are silent and you should check the booking page. Lunch is only included on three products, and hotel pickup only on two.

The reef tax, formally the Environmental Management Charge, funds Marine Park management. The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority sets it at A$8.50 for a full-day passenger and A$4.25 for part-day, rising to A$9.00 and A$4.50 from 1 April 2027. The two Big Cat transfer tours compared here state it as included in the fare. Great Adventures' own fares page states the charge is included in its fare price, though the specific aggregator listings are less explicit. Where a tour's details are unclear, treat the question as open and check the operator's booking page before you assume. Our full breakdown of the reef tax and what is included goes fare by fare.

The other fine print worth a pre-booking read: optional activities excluded from the Great Adventures fares include introductory and certified scuba, offshore boat snorkel trips, Seawalker helmet diving, canoe and beach hire, and scenic helicopter flights, all payable locally subject to availability. The Northern Beaches transfer listing is unusually transparent about local prices, noting an introductory scuba dive at AU$152 and a Seawalker helmet dive at AU$165 as bookable on the island, alongside a semi-submersible coral viewing tour at AU$20. Those are the operator's own published add-on fares and they can beat upgrading your base ticket, so do the arithmetic both ways.

Finally, stinger season touches every listing equally. Cairns Regional Council flags marine stingers as of particular concern from November to June, and Queensland Parks notes they may be present in coastal waters in any month, so there is no honest stinger-free window to sell or to buy. Suit supply varies by listing: the Ocean Free dive-option listing states wetsuits and lycra suits are included; several others say nothing. Our stinger season guide covers suit policy by operator.

Where To Book And How To Compare Fairly

**Compare these 16 listings on five axes only: from-price, duration, what the fare includes, pickup, and the review count behind the rating. Never compare a bare rating number without its count, never treat a same-operator variant as the same product, and treat every from-price as the cheapest option rather than the typical one. Book through the live booking page, where free cancellation applies to every tour on this site.

The single most common comparison error is treating "from A$110" and "from A$112" as the whole story. Those fares buy a crossing and a choice of one activity; the day you actually want, with lunch, a semi-sub ride or a later start, may cost A$40 to A$100 more on any listing. The second error is weight-of-evidence: a 4.9 from 10 reviews and a 4.9 from 682 reviews are not the same claim, and this site prints the count beside every rating for exactly that reason. The third is merging variants: Big Cat's 9am full day, 11am full day and two half days are four separate schedules, and Great Adventures' cruise-only, half-day and both-activities fares are three separate bundles.

When you have narrowed it to two or three, the tiebreakers are practical. Which terminal is closer to your bed: Marlin Wharf for Big Cat, or the Reef Fleet Terminal for Great Adventures, Ocean Free and the transfer listings, both at the Cairns marina end of town. Does the departure time leave room for breakfast. Is lunch included or an option. And there is real cancellation comfort: every tour on this site offers free cancellation, so a held booking costs you nothing but the decision. Check availability on your shortlist while you weigh it; peak-season dates in the dry months are the ones that fill first, and each tour's booking page shows current seats.

Common Questions About Green Island Tours

What is the cheapest Green Island tour?

The cheapest fares among the Green Island tours compared here are the Big Cat full day, the 11am later start, and both Big Cat half days, all from A$110 per person with snorkel gear or a glass-bottom boat tour included. The Great Adventures catamaran follows at A$112. Below that there is no cheaper bookable listing; going independently on a ferry-only fare is covered in our separate guide.

Which Green Island tour is best for snorkelling?

For snorkelling bundled in the fare, the Great Adventures listing at A$156 includes both snorkelling equipment and a glass-bottom boat tour. For snorkelling as the focus of the whole day, the Ocean Free schooner trips include gear, tuition and in-water crew assistance, rated 4.9 from 682 reviews and 4.8 from 413 reviews. Remember that fish and turtles are wild; no listing promises sightings.

Do any Green Island tours include hotel pickup?

Only two of the 16 listings: the Big Cat city transfers listing from A$157 with Cairns city hotel pickup and drop-off, and the Northern Beaches transfers listing from A$167. Every other listing either states pickup is not included or is silent. All boats depart from the Cairns marina area, 1 Spence Street, about 10 to 15 minutes by road from the airport.

Is the Great Adventures or Big Cat tour better?

They are close. Big Cat's full day is slightly cheaper at A$110 versus A$112 and rated 4.5 from 1,727 reviews; Great Adventures' catamaran is rated 4.4 from 1,933 reviews, offers half and full day options, and includes a marine biologist reef talk and island walk exclusive to its passengers. Great Adventures checks in inside the Reef Fleet Terminal; Big Cat checks in at its vessels at Marlin Wharf.

Are meals included on Green Island tours?

Usually not. Most listings include morning tea and coffee only, with food bought on the island or selected as a lunch option. Three products include a real meal: the Moore Reef pontoon combo with a hot and cold buffet including prawns, the Ocean Free sailing days with lunch, and the fly-and-cruise package with buffet lunch.

Can you dive on a Green Island day tour?

Yes, three ways: the Big Cat full day with diving from A$250, which includes scuba equipment and rates 4.9 from just 10 reviews; the Ocean Free sailing day with optional intro or certified dives from A$289; or the Seawalker helmet dive from A$289, which needs no swimming. The listing notes diving requires no disqualifying medical conditions.