Big Cat Green Island Cruise: Every Departure, Fare And Option Compared

Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises runs more departures to Green Island than any other operator compared here: two full-day starts, a morning and an afternoon half day, and two packages that add hotel transfers. Here is what separates each option, what each one costs, and how the fleet stacks up against Great Adventures.

A large catamaran moored at a tropical island jetty beside clear shallow reef water

Short answer

Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises operates from Cairns Marlin Marina with full-day cruises from A$110 per person (4.5 from 1,727 reviews), a 6-hour 11am start at the same from-price, two 4-hour half days, and transfer packages from A$157. The crossing takes about 45 minutes and every Big Cat tour on this site carries free cancellation.

Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises is one of two operators running scheduled day trips from Cairns to Green Island, and it is the only one on this site with seven separate listings. That spread is the whole point: the same catamaran fleet, the same 45-minute crossing, but seven different ways to buy the day. The full-day cruise is the flagship at 4.5 from 1,727 reviews and from A$110 per person, while the 11am later start, the two half days and the two transfer packages each trade hours, price or convenience against it.

This guide compares all seven: what each listing includes, where it departs, what it costs, and where Big Cat sits against the Great Adventures catamaran on price, rating and review count. Where a listing is silent on something, such as the reef tax or hotel pickup, it says so plainly rather than filling the gap. The operator's own pages state the crossing takes about 45 minutes and that Big Cat vessels are based at Marlin Wharf, with check-in directly at the boat rather than inside the Reef Fleet Terminal.

What Is The Big Cat Green Island Cruise?

Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises is a Cairns-based catamaran operator running scheduled full-day and half-day services between Cairns Marlin Marina and Green Island, 27 km offshore, with the crossing taking about 45 minutes each way. Its full-day cruise runs about 8 hours from A$110 per person and rates 4.5 from 1,727 reviews, and every Big Cat tour on this site carries free cancellation.

The fleet is made up of the vessels Big Cat and Reef Rocket, both based at Marlin Wharf at the Cairns Marlin Marina complex on Spence Street. Unlike Great Adventures, whose passengers check in at a counter inside the Reef Fleet Terminal, Big Cat checks passengers in directly at the vessel, a detail worth knowing on a busy morning when two reef fleets are boarding at once. The island itself is a national park, and the cruise gives you access to its beaches, the rainforest boardwalk and the snorkelling zone, with optional extras such as the semi-submarine and scuba booked locally on the day where the listing allows.

Seven listings sit here under the Big Cat banner. Five are cruises sold direct: the full day, the 11am later start, the morning half day, the afternoon half day and a full-day diving package. The remaining two, the Cairns city transfers package and the Northern Beaches transfers package, wrap the full-day cruise together with hotel pickup and drop-off. They are genuinely different products with different inclusions and different from-prices, not the same ticket resold, and the sections below name the differences rather than blurring them.

Which Big Cat Departure Should You Choose?

Choose the full-day cruise for the most island time and the deepest review pool, the 11am start for a slower morning, and a half day if Green Island is one of several commitments. The full day runs about 8 hours from A$110 per person, the 11am start about 6 hours at the same from-price, and both half days about 4 hours. All depart from Cairns Marlin Marina, and none lists hotel pickup in the base fare.

The full-day cruise is the option most people should start with. It has the operator's biggest review count, 4.5 from 1,727 reviews, and the inclusions cover the catamaran trip, safety gear, a choice of snorkelling or the glass-bottom boat, and an optional semi-submarine tour and lunch you select at booking. The operator's schedule lists full-day departures at 9am and 11am, returning late afternoon, which gives roughly five and a half hours on the island with the early start.

The 11am later start is its own tour option, not a time slot on the full day. It runs about 6 hours, rates 4.3 from 273 reviews, and costs from the same A$110 per person. The trade is simple: you sleep in, and you give up about two hours of island time. This option still covers the rainforest boardwalk, plus optional snorkel gear, lunch and the semi-sub, so the activity menu matches the full day even though the clock does not.

The half days split the same day in two. The morning half day runs about 4 hours, rates 4.1 from 469 reviews, and includes the catamaran cruise, snorkel gear hire or the glass-bottom boat and a snorkelling demonstration. The afternoon half day, 4.3 from 473 reviews, is the mirror image: a return afternoon transfer with the same snorkel-or-glass-bottom choice. Neither includes food, and both list hotel pickup as not included. For anyone pairing Green Island with a morning activity in Cairns, the afternoon option is the one that fits.

Big Cat listing Duration From price (pp) Rating Reviews Snorkel or glass bottom
Full day 8 hours A$110 4.5 1,727 Choice included
Later start, 11am 6 hours A$110 4.3 273 If option selected
Morning half day 4 hours A$110 4.1 469 Gear hire or glass bottom
Afternoon half day 4 hours A$110 4.3 473 If option selected
Full day with city transfers 8 hours A$157 4.5 23 Choice included
Full day with Northern Beaches transfers 8 hours A$167 4.5 14 Choice included
A white catamaran cruising across calm turquoise water toward a green forested island

One pattern worth noticing in that table: the four cruise-only options all share the same A$110 from-price. What moves the price is time saved, not time on the water. The transfer packages cost A$157 and A$167 from-price because they add door-to-door transport, and the diving package, covered later in this guide, costs from A$250 because it adds scuba equipment and an optional semi-submarine ride. If you are comparing on price alone, the full day at A$110 is the benchmark every other tour on this site is measured against.

How Much Does A Big Cat Green Island Day Cost?

The cruise-only Big Cat listings all start from A$110 per person, the city transfers package from A$157 and the Northern Beaches transfers package from A$167, while the full-day diving package starts from A$250. Lunch is an option you select on the cruise listings, not part of the base fare, and the reef tax is stated as included only on the two transfer packages; the other listings do not state it.

The A$110 entry price buys the crossing and the snorkel-or-glass-bottom choice. From there, prices climb with what is bundled in. The transfer packages add hotel transport and state the Environmental Management Charge as included; the city transfers package cites the reef tax by name. The cruise-only options are silent on the charge, which sits at A$8.50 per person for a full-day passenger under the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority's schedule, rising to A$9.00 from 1 April 2027. Where a tour page does not state it, the honest answer is to check the live booking page before you pay, because silence is not the same as an included fee.

On the island, food and optional activities are bought on the day. The Great Adventures island page lists the glass-bottom boat and snorkel hire at A$32 each as the operator's own published add-on prices, and a lunch combo at A$41 adult at Emeralds Restaurant, with the Canopy Grill, Lite Bites Cafe and Reflections Pool Bar all open through the middle of the day. Those are island prices, not Big Cat cruise prices, but they are the numbers that fill the gaps in a cruise-only ticket. The diving tour's live booking page shows optional extras payable locally on the transfer packages, including an introductory scuba dive at AU$152 and a Seawalker helmet dive at AU$165, stated as operator pricing on that page.

Free cancellation applies across every Big Cat tour on this site, which matters on a Cairns day trip more than most. Weather in the tropics turns quickly, and a booking you can cancel without penalty is worth holding while you watch the forecast. The full-day cruise, the most reviewed Big Cat listing at 4.5 from 1,727 reviews, is the natural default at this price point; you can Check availability beside the site's full Big Cat cruise tour page when you have your dates.

What Is Included On The Big Cat Full Day Cruise?

The full-day listing includes the catamaran trip, safety gear and a choice of snorkelling or a glass-bottom boat tour, with lunch, the semi-submarine tour and diving activities as options you select or exclude. It runs about 8 hours from A$110 per person, departs Cairns Marlin Marina, and lists no hotel pickup. Food and drinks are available to purchase, and the listing does not state whether the reef tax is included.

The inclusions are simple: the crossing, the gear to see the reef with, and the choice of how you see it. Gear hire covers mask, snorkel and fins. The glass-bottom boat alternative suits anyone who would rather stay dry, and the semi-submarine tour, where selected, is a seated underwater viewing run. On the transfer packages, a semi-submersible coral viewing tour is priced at AU$20 payable locally, operator pricing shown on the live booking page.

What is not in the base fare matters just as much. Lunch is an option you select at booking on the full day, the 11am start and the transfer packages, and on the half days food is simply available to purchase. Scuba diving is excluded on every cruise-only Big Cat listing; if you want to dive off a Big Cat boat, the dedicated diving listing is the one that includes the equipment. Hotel pickup is absent from the cruise-only fares, which is the practical difference the transfer packages exist to solve.

The island side of the day is free to roam. Green Island is a national park with a 1.5 km beach circuit that takes about an hour, a 1.3 km return boardwalk through the rainforest at about 50 minutes, and a 500 m return jetty walk at about 30 minutes, all graded easy by Queensland Parks. Snorkelling is between the red and yellow flags in the patrolled zone, and the marine park rules are the usual no-take ones: never touch or chase wildlife, never feed anything, and stay on the tracks on land. The Green Island snorkelling guide on this site covers the water side in detail.

Big Cat Versus Great Adventures: How Do They Compare?

Big Cat's cruise-only fares start at A$110 per person against A$112 for the Great Adventures catamaran, and Great Adventures carries the larger review pool, 4.4 from 1,933 reviews against Big Cat's 4.5 from 1,727 on the full day. Great Adventures departs the Reef Fleet Terminal with 8:30am and 10:30am sailings; Big Cat departs Marlin Wharf with 9am and 11am full-day starts.

The headline numbers are closer than most people expect. The Great Adventures catamaran listing, the most reviewed product on this entire site at 4.4 from 1,933 reviews, is from A$112 per person; the Big Cat full day is from A$110 at 4.5 from 1,727 reviews. Two dollars and a fraction of a rating point separate the default products of the two operators. The real differences are structural: Great Adventures includes morning tea and coffee on board, a marine biologist reef talk and island walk exclusive to its passengers, and access to the island swimming pool on its higher packages, while Big Cat's base fare is leaner and its optional lunch is a buffet you select. More of these guides are collected on Green Island Great Barrier Reef Tours.

Two passenger ferries tied side by side at a marina wharf in morning light

Timetables are the other fork. Great Adventures departs the Reef Fleet Terminal at 8:30am and 10:30am, returning from the island at 2:30pm and 4:30pm, with boarding 30 minutes before departure, per the operator's own published schedule. Big Cat's published full-day departures are 9am and 11am, with half days at 9am to 1pm and 1pm to 5pm. In practice the two fleets interleave through the morning, so the choice of operator and the choice of departure time are the same decision. The ferry times and tickets guide lays both timetables side by side.

Measure Big Cat full day Great Adventures catamaran
From price (pp) A$110 A$112
Rating 4.5 4.4
Review count 1,727 1,933
Duration 8 hours 5 to 9 hours (half or full day)
Departure point Cairns Marlin Marina (Marlin Wharf) Reef Fleet Terminal
Check-in At the vessel Great Adventures counter inside the terminal
Onboard food Lunch an option you select Morning tea and coffee on board
Extras exclusive to the operator Semi-sub and dive options bookable locally Marine biologist reef talk and island walk
Hotel pickup Not stated Not stated
Free cancellation Yes Yes
Bar chart comparing Big Cat and Great Adventures listings by from-price, rating and review count
Big Cat's full day undercuts the Great Adventures catamaran by A$2 at the from-price while holding a slightly higher rating, though Great Adventures carries the larger review pool.

Neither operator is the "better" one without naming the criterion. On review depth, Great Adventures wins with 1,933 reviews. On the from-price of the default full day, Big Cat wins by two dollars. On included food and the biologist talk, Great Adventures packages more in; on optional activities bookable locally, including the dedicated diving tour, Big Cat's menu runs deeper. The tours compared guide on this site extends the same comparison to all 16 tours.

Where Does Big Cat Depart From And When Should You Arrive?

Big Cat departs from Cairns Marlin Marina, with check-in directly at the vessels Big Cat and Reef Rocket on Marlin Wharf rather than inside the Reef Fleet Terminal, and boarding is at the wharf per the operator's own FAQ. The marina complex sits at 1 Spence Street, Cairns, about 10 to 15 minutes by road from Cairns Airport. Arrive early enough to find the vessel, since the two reef fleets board at the same complex on the same mornings.

The check-in difference trips up first-timers. Great Adventures passengers walk into the terminal building to a counter; Big Cat passengers walk past it to the wharf where the boats are tied. On a 9am full-day departure that means arriving with time to spare, finding the right vessel among the marina traffic, and not queuing at the wrong operator's counter. The address is the same 1 Spence Street block for both, which is why the confusion happens at all.

Getting there is straightforward. Cairns Airport sits about 10 to 15 minutes by road from the terminal area, with metered taxi fares in the roughly A$19 to A$35 range and rideshare comparable, per current transfer guides. Many CBD and Esplanade hotels are within walking distance of the marina, which is the most reliable option of all on a morning departure. Same-morning flight arrivals are a known risk for early reef departures, and the standard advice is to overnight in Cairns first; the where to stay in Cairns guide covers the neighbourhoods that make the walk possible.

A timber marina wharf with moored boats and a terminal building at sunrise

For drivers, the Southern Esplanade car park near the Spence Street end is the one day-trippers use, roughly a minute's walk from the terminal, paid by the hour through the day and free outside charging hours, per Cairns Regional Council's parking guide. Rates and rules change, so check the signage on the day. The Reef Fleet Terminal guide on this site covers parking, transfers and check-in flow in full.

Half Day, Later Start Or Transfers: Which Listing For Which Traveller?

Take the morning half day if you want the calmest water and are done by early afternoon, the afternoon half day if Green Island is your second activity of the day, the 11am start if a 9am departure is too early, and a transfer package if you are staying outside walking distance of the marina. All six listings share free cancellation, and the half days, later start and full day share the same A$110 from-price.

The half-day choice is really a choice about the sun and your schedule. Mornings on the reef are typically the quieter, clearer end of the day, and the morning half day's included snorkelling demonstration suits first-timers. The afternoon half day suits anyone who has already done something in Cairns that morning, or who wants a shorter first reef experience, and it carries a slightly stronger rating pool at 4.3 from 473 reviews against the morning's 4.1 from 469. The differences are small; the clock is the decision.

The transfer packages solve a problem the cruise-only fares create: no hotel pickup. The city transfers package, from A$157 per person at 4.5 from 23 reviews, includes pickup and drop-off from Cairns city accommodation, morning tea and coffee, the Environmental Management Charge, and the choice of a glass-bottom boat tour or snorkelling gear, with the buffet lunch and semi-submersible as options. The Northern Beaches version, from A$167 at 4.5 from 14 reviews, does the same from Northern Beaches accommodation. Both review pools are small, and this site says so plainly rather than dressing a 23-review listing in borrowed superlatives.

A resort coach bus parked on a palm-lined street collecting day-trip passengers

There is also a diving route through the Big Cat fleet. The full-day tour with diving, from A$250 per person, includes scuba diving equipment, the choice of snorkelling gear or a glass-bottom boat ride, and an optional semi-submarine ride and buffet lunch. Its review pool is only 10 reviews, which is a fact worth stating rather than hiding: it is a genuine scuba-included tour, but it does not have the review depth of the cruise-only options. The intro dive and scuba guide compares it against the other dive tours on this site.

What About Weather, Stingers And Cancellation On A Big Cat Day?

Every Big Cat tour on this site carries free cancellation, which is the practical answer to Cairns weather, since cyclone season runs 1 November to 30 April and stingers are of particular concern November to June with any-month presence possible. Sea surface temperatures across the reef were close to average through August, and the Northern region's hard coral cover sits at 35.1 percent, above its long-term average. None of that guarantees a given day's conditions.

Tropical North Queensland runs on a wet and dry rhythm rather than four even seasons. Cairns averages 404.8 mm of rain in January, 437.5 mm in February and 422.1 mm in March, against 26.5 mm in August, per Bureau of Meteorology means, and the official cyclone window is 1 November to 30 April. A Big Cat sailing goes in most of that, but free cancellation is the buffer that makes booking ahead sensible. Check the forecast, hold the booking, and decide.

Stingers are the seasonal fact to plan around rather than fear. Marine stingers are of particular concern between November and June, and Queensland Parks warns they may be present in coastal waters at any time, so no month is a stinger-free month. The cruise listings do not state stinger suit supply, so ask the operator when booking in the warmer months. The stinger season guide covers suits, nets and the official advice in detail.

Seasonal factor What the official sources say What it means for a Big Cat booking
Cyclone season 1 November to 30 April, Australian region Book with free cancellation and watch the forecast
Stingers Concern November to June, possible any month Ask about stinger suits in warmer months
Reef condition Northern GBR hard coral cover 35.1 percent, above the 27.0 percent long-term average Regional data, not a Green Island measurement
Sea temperature Close to average through August No month-by-month Green Island figures exist
Rainfall Cairns averages 404.8 mm in January against 26.5 mm in August Dry season days are statistically more settled

On the island itself, the newest development is the Green Island Turtle Rehabilitation Centre, which turned its ceremonial first sod in April 2026 and is expected to be operational by December 2026. It is not open yet, and this site does not describe it as something you can visit today. Marineland Melanesia, the crocodile and turtle attraction a five-minute stroll from the jetty, is open daily 9am to 4pm with shows around 10:30am and 1:30pm, per its own site; entry is paid separately and no verified price exists to print.

For everything the cruise itself does not cover, the free things to do on Green Island guide lists the walks, beaches and jetty viewing that cost nothing beyond the fare that got you there. Between the walks, the snorkel zone and the optional extras, the Big Cat day is as full or as idle as you choose to make it.

Common Questions About The Big Cat Green Island Cruise

How much is the Big Cat Green Island cruise?

The cruise-only Big Cat listings, the full day, the 11am later start and both half days, all start from A$110 per person. The city transfers package starts from A$157, the Northern Beaches transfers package from A$167, and the full-day diving package from A$250. Lunch is an option you select on the cruise listings, not part of the base fare.

Where does the Big Cat cruise depart from?

Big Cat departs from Cairns Marlin Marina at 1 Spence Street, Cairns. Check-in is directly at the vessels Big Cat and Reef Rocket on Marlin Wharf, not inside the Reef Fleet Terminal; Great Adventures passengers use the terminal counter. The crossing to Green Island takes about 45 minutes.

What time does the Big Cat full-day cruise leave?

The operator's published schedule lists full-day departures at 9am and 11am, returning late afternoon, with half days running 9am to 1pm and 1pm to 5pm. The full day runs about 8 hours and the half days about 4 hours. Arrive early enough to find the vessel on the wharf.

Is the Big Cat cruise better than Great Adventures?

Neither is better without naming the criterion. Big Cat's full day is from A$110 at 4.5 from 1,727 reviews; the Great Adventures catamaran is from A$112 at 4.4 from 1,933 reviews. Great Adventures includes morning tea, a marine biologist reef talk and island walk; Big Cat's base fare is leaner with more optional activities bookable locally.

Does the Big Cat cruise include lunch and the reef tax?

Lunch is an option you select at booking on the full day, later start and transfer packages, and is available to purchase on the half days. The reef tax is stated as included only on the two transfer packages; the cruise-only listings do not state it, so check the booking page. The charge is A$8.50 per full-day passenger, rising to A$9.00 from 1 April 2027.

Can I cancel a Big Cat Green Island booking?

Yes, free cancellation applies to every Big Cat tour on this site. That matters for a Cairns day trip: cyclone season runs 1 November to 30 April, and tropical weather can change a day's plans fast. Check the cancellation terms on the live booking page for the exact cutoff before you book.