How Much Does It Cost To Go To Green Island From Cairns?
The real cost ladder for a Green Island day trip from Cairns, from the A$110 cruise-only fare to dive, sailing and combo days, plus reef tax, island extras and what the cheap tickets leave out.
Green Island sits 27 km offshore from Cairns, about 45 minutes away by fast catamaran, and it is the cheapest piece of the Great Barrier Reef you can buy as a packaged day. The genuine floor price across the Green Island tours compared here is from A$110 per person for a cruise-only ticket, and the ceiling is from A$429 for a package that puts you over the reef in a high-wing aircraft before the boat ride home. Between those two points sit snorkel fares, glass-bottom boats, a helmet dive you can do without knowing how to swim, a two-island day, and an outer reef pontoon combo with a hot and cold buffet lunch. If the cruise-only fare sounds appealing, our guide to visiting Green Island without a booked tour explains what a ferry ticket covers, what you give up by skipping the extras, and which national park rules apply either way.
The part most first-time visitors get wrong is not the headline fare. It is everything stacked around it: the Environmental Management Charge, lunch, transfers from your hotel, and the add-ons that look cheap until you are standing on the island with a wallet open. This page walks the whole ladder, with every price taken from the operators' own published fares and the current rates on the live booking page, so you can see exactly where your money goes before you book anything. Since that charge confuses more travelers than any other line item, our full guide to the reef tax on a Green Island trip explains who collects it and when you actually have to pay.
How Much Does It Cost To Go To Green Island From Cairns?
A Green Island day trip costs from A$110 to A$429 per person depending on what the ticket includes. Cruise-only fares on the Big Cat boats are the cheapest; the Great Adventures catamaran starts from A$112; activity-inclusive days run from A$127 to A$289; and fly-and-cruise packages, the priciest of all, start from A$429. All 16 tours compared here come with free cancellation. Once you've picked a ticket, the next question is how much time to set aside, and the guide to how many days in Cairns is enough for a reef trip walks through the options.
That range is real, not a marketing spread. It reflects genuinely different products: a bare ferry-style crossing with up to seven hours of free time, versus a small-group schooner with lunch, wine on the return sail and a marine biology talk, versus a 40-minute scenic flight bolted onto a full day on the water. The cheapest fares assume you want the island itself, its rainforest boardwalk and its beaches, and are happy to pay for anything on the water separately or skip it.
Here is the full price ladder across every Green Island tour on this site. Prices are per person in Australian dollars and reflect the "from" price each tour quotes.
| Tier | Listing | From price | Duration | What the fare includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cruise only | Big Cat full day | A$110 | 8 hours | Catamaran trip, choice of snorkelling or glass-bottom boat, safety gear |
| Cruise only | Big Cat later start (11am) | A$110 | 6 hours | Cruise, rainforest boardwalk, optional snorkel gear, lunch and semi-sub as options |
| Cruise only | Big Cat morning half day | A$110 | 4 hours | Cruise, snorkel gear hire or glass-bottom boat, snorkel demonstration |
| Cruise only | Big Cat afternoon half day | A$110 | 4 hours | Return cruise, snorkel equipment hire or glass-bottom boat tour |
| Cruise only | Great Adventures catamaran | A$112 | 5 to 9 hours | Fast catamaran, marine biologist reef talk and island walk, eco trail access |
| Activity fare | Great Adventures half day, snorkel or glass-bottom | A$127 | 6 hours | Cruise, snorkel gear or glass-bottom tour, island pool access |
| Activity fare | Great Adventures discovery, snorkel and glass-bottom | A$156 | 7 hours | Cruise, snorkelling gear and a glass-bottom boat tour, beach bag |
| Transfers included | Big Cat full day with city transfers | A$157 | 8 hours | Cruise, hotel pickup and drop-off, morning tea, reef tax |
| Transfers included | Big Cat full day, Northern Beaches transfers | A$167 | 8 hours | Cruise, Northern Beaches hotel transfers, reef tax, glass-bottom or snorkel |
| Two islands | Fitzroy and Green Island in one day | A$196 | 8 hours | Two islands, over 6 hours on the reef, commentary, marine bio presentation |
| Sail and dive | Ocean Free schooner with optional dive | A$289 | 9 hours | Small-group sailing, all snorkel gear including wetsuits, smorgasbord lunch |
| Sail | Ocean Free sailing and Green Island tour | A$289 | 9 hours | Sailing cruise, lunch, wine on return, snorkel tuition and gear |
| Dive day | Big Cat full day with diving | A$250 | 8 hours | Cruise, scuba diving equipment, snorkel gear or glass-bottom boat |
| Helmet dive | Seawalker and snorkel or glass-bottom boat | A$289 | 7 hours | Cruise, Seawalker helmet dive, snorkel or glass-bottom choice |
| Combo | Green Island and outer reef pontoon | A$312 | 8 hours | 2 hours Green Island, 3 hours outer reef platform, buffet lunch, gear |
| Fly and cruise | Reef flight plus full day cruise | A$429 | 9.5 hours | 40-minute flight with window seat, full day cruise, buffet lunch, glass-bottom |
One thing worth noticing immediately: the four Big Cat options all start at A$110 whether you take four hours or eight. The half-day fares are not cheaper than the full day; they are shorter. If your only constraint is money and you can give the day to it, the full-day tickets on the Big Cat full day, rated 4.5 from 1,727 reviews, are the same price as the morning half day at 4.1 from 469 reviews. The full guide to that operator's schedules is in the Big Cat cruise guide.
If you are still deciding between operators rather than between price tiers, the full side-by-side lives in the Green Island tours compared guide, which breaks the 16 listings down by inclusions rather than price alone.
What Does The Cheapest Green Island Fare Leave Out?
The A$110 and A$112 entry fares cover the boat and the island, not lunch, not hotel transfers, and on some listings not the water activities at all. Lunch is an add-on or a purchase on every cheap Big Cat listing; hotel pickup is only included on the two transfer-inclusive fares at A$157 and A$167; and dive or helmet experiences are separate products entirely.
Reading the fine print on the cheapest tickets saves more money than chasing discounts. On the Big Cat full day, lunch is described as an option you select, not part of the base fare. The same is true of the 11am later start and both half-day listings, where food and drinks are listed as available to purchase. The Great Adventures catamaran at A$112 includes morning tea and coffee on board but states plainly that island food and drinks are bought on the day. None of that is hidden; it just means the true cost of a cheap day is the fare plus whatever you eat.
Hotel transfers are the other line that trips people up. Of all the Green Island tours compared here, only two bundle pickup: the Big Cat full day with city transfers at from A$157, rated 4.5 from 23 reviews, and the Northern Beaches version at from A$167, rated 4.5 from 14 reviews. Every other tour either states hotel pickup is not included or is silent on it, and silence is not a yes. The operators do sell coach seats separately: Big Cat quotes A$27 adult return from Cairns city hotels and A$38 from the Northern Beaches on its own pages, and Great Adventures lists a coach transfer at A$36. If you are staying in the CBD, the terminal at 1 Spence Street is a short walk from most Esplanade hotels, and walking costs nothing.
There is also a structural point about what "cruise only" means. The Big Cat base listings include a choice of snorkelling gear or a glass-bottom boat tour, so the A$110 fare does get you on or in the water. The Great Adventures A$112 fare is the ferry-style ticket: the listing includes reef talks, the island walk and national park tracks, but water gear is paid separately, with glass-bottom boat and snorkel hire each published by the operator at A$32. Two listings that differ by A$2 in headline price can differ by more than A$30 in delivered value once you pick your activities. The ferry times and tickets guide goes deeper on that distinction.
How Much Is The Reef Tax On A Green Island Trip?
The Environmental Management Charge is A$8.50 per person for a full-day passenger and A$4.25 for part-day, collected by the tour operator, and it rises to A$9.00 and A$4.50 from 1 April 2027. Some listings fold it into the fare, including the two Big Cat transfer listings and the Great Adventures fares; on others the listing does not state it, so check the booking page.
The charge is a statutory entry cost for the Marine Park, set out by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, and every permit holder remits it quarterly. For a traveller the practical question is only whether it is already inside the number you are looking at. Great Adventures states on its own fares page that the A$8.50 charge, applying to everyone aged four and over, is included in the fare price. The Big Cat listings with city and Northern Beaches transfers both list the Environmental Management Charge, called reef tax, as an inclusion. For the plain cruise-only listings, the listing text does not state it either way, which means you should confirm at booking rather than assume.
If you want the full breakdown of which ticket includes what, including the meals and gear lines, the reef tax and inclusions guide carries the item-by-item table. As a budgeting rule of thumb, treat the reef tax as at most A$8.50 per person of your total, and never as a surprise at the jetty.

How Much Do The Water Activities Cost On The Island?
Operator-published island prices put glass-bottom boat and snorkel hire at A$32 each, a boat snorkel trip at A$68, a marine biologist guided snorkel at A$89, and the Seawalker helmet experience at A$205, with introductory scuba at A$205 through Great Adventures. Booking the activity inside your fare, as the A$156 discovery ticket does, is usually cheaper than buying it on the island.
These are the operator's own published fares, listed on the Great Adventures fares page, and they are the numbers to use when comparing a cheap ticket plus island extras against an all-inclusive fare. The arithmetic is straightforward. Take the A$112 ferry-style fare, add snorkel hire at A$32 and a glass-bottom boat ride at A$32, and the two island add-ons alone come to A$64 on top of the fare, for a day that the combined snorkel and glass-bottom boat tour, with both activities and the cruise included, sells at from A$156. The bundled ticket comes out ahead of the fare-plus-extras route, and it is rated 4.2 from 410 reviews.
The add-on ladder continues upward from there. A boat snorkel trip that takes you off the beach costs A$68; a guided snorkel with a marine biologist is A$89; and scenic helicopter flights from the island start at A$227. On the Big Cat side, the transfer listings show locally payable prices of A$152 for an introductory scuba dive, A$165 for the Seawalker helmet dive and A$20 for a semi-submersible coral viewing tour, all subject to availability on the day. Those are worth knowing even if you never book them, because they set the ceiling on what an impulse purchase on the island can cost you.
| Activity | Operator-published price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Glass-bottom boat tour | A$32 | Great Adventures island fare |
| Snorkel equipment hire | A$32 | Great Adventures island fare |
| Semi-submersible coral viewing | A$20 | Big Cat, payable locally, subject to availability |
| Boat snorkel trip | A$68 | Off-beach guided trip, Great Adventures |
| Marine biologist guided snorkel | A$89 | Great Adventures |
| Introductory scuba dive | A$205 Great Adventures / A$152 Big Cat | Different products; compare inclusions |
| Seawalker helmet dive | A$205 Great Adventures / A$165 Big Cat | No swimming required |
| Scenic helicopter flight | A$227 | Great Adventures optional extra |
| Lunch combo at Emeralds Restaurant | A$41 adult | Served 11am to 2pm |
Not every water activity costs money. The snorkel zone sits between the red and yellow flags, Queensland Parks asks snorkellers to stay between them, and the island's beaches and rainforest walks are free once you have landed. The beach walk is a 1.5 km circuit allowing an hour, the boardwalk is 1.3 km return allowing 50 minutes, and the jetty walk is 500 m return allowing 30 minutes, all graded easy. The free things to do guide lists the rest.
What Do The Premium Days Cost And What Do You Get?
Above the A$167 mark, the Green Island tours compared here offer genuinely different days out: a two-island day from A$196, sailing days with lunch and dive options from A$289, an outer reef pontoon combo with buffet lunch from A$312, and the fly-and-cruise package from A$429. Each one answers a different question, not just a bigger budget.
The two-islands day is the value play for reef time. Run by Big Cat at from A$196 and rated 4.1 from 187 reviews, it splits over six hours between Green Island and Fitzroy Island, with snorkel equipment usable at both, a glass-bottom boat tour at Fitzroy if that option is selected, expert commentary and a marine biology presentation. Lunch, either a boxed lunch at Fitzroy or a buffet at Green Island, is an optional extra. If your priority is maximum hours in the water rather than depth of experience at one island, this is the listing that does it.
The sailing days are the comfort play. Ocean Free runs a small-group schooner, and both of its tours start from A$289. The pure sailing tour, rated 4.9 from 682 reviews, the strongest rating among all the Green Island tours compared here with a review pool to back it, includes lunch, morning and afternoon tea, a complimentary glass of wine on the return sail, all snorkelling gear, tuition, in-water crew assistance and a reef talk. The variant with dive options, rated 4.8 from 413 reviews, adds top-quality gear including wetsuits and lycra suits, one or two scuba dives depending on the option, and a large smorgasbord lunch. Small group means small group: these are the options to pick when the idea of a 300-person catamaran is the thing putting you off.
Then there is the combination that answers the "reef or island" question by refusing to choose. The Green Island and outer reef pontoon day, from A$312 and rated 4.6 from 98 reviews, gives you two hours at Green Island with snorkel equipment included, three hours at an outer reef activity platform on Moore Reef, a hot and cold buffet lunch with fresh prawns, lycra suits, buoyancy vests and a marine biologist presentation. It is the most expensive standard day of the Green Island tours compared here after the fly-and-cruise, and the only one that puts both the island and the outer reef in a single ticket.
What Does Diving Or Seawalker Add To The Bill?
Bookable diving products start from A$250 for the Big Cat full day with diving equipment included, rated 4.9 from just 10 reviews, and from A$289 for the Ocean Free sailing day with optional dives or the Seawalker helmet dive, rated 4.1 from 98 reviews. Diving is the one category where the review pools are small, so the price is firm but the reputation evidence is thin.
That caveat matters. The dive-inclusive Big Cat tour holds a share of the top rating among these Green Island options at 4.9, drawn from just 10 reviews: ten people, not a settled consensus. The Ocean Free dive trip, at 4.8 from 413 reviews, rests on far stronger statistical footing. Neither number is a reason to book or to walk away; both are reasons to read the inclusions rather than the star.
The Seawalker helmet dive deserves its own line because it solves a real problem. It is the listing for people who cannot swim, or who do not want to snorkel, since the helmet keeps your head dry and you walk on a platform underwater. The dedicated Seawalker listing, from A$289 and rated 4.1 from 98 reviews, bundles the cruise, the helmet dive and a choice of glass-bottom boat or snorkel gear. Buying the same experience on the island through Great Adventures costs A$205 as an add-on on top of a cruise fare, so the arithmetic between the bundle and the add-on is worth doing for your own dates.
The intro-dive question has a second track too: Big Cat's transfer listings show an introductory scuba dive at A$152 payable locally, subject to availability. A cheap A$110 or A$157 ticket plus a locally paid dive can land close to the dedicated dive listing's from-price of A$250, with less certainty of a spot. The full comparison, including what a first dive actually involves and the medical conditions the sailing listing flags, is in the Green Island intro dive and scuba guide.

What Will You Spend On The Island Itself?
Beyond the fare and the water activities, the realistic on-island spend is food and optional attractions: a lunch combo at Emeralds Restaurant is published at A$41 for an adult, casual outlets run from mid-morning to late afternoon, and Marineland Melanesia charges separate entry, though its price is not published in any verified source here. Budget at least the A$41 lunch combo per adult on top of your fare, plus whatever paid attraction you add.
The island's own food outlets publish their hours rather than their prices, and the one firm lunch figure is the A$41 adult combo at Emeralds Restaurant, served 11am to 2pm. The Canopy Grill runs 10am to 3pm, Lite Bites Cafe 9:30am to 4pm and Reflections Pool Bar 10am to 4pm, so a full-day visitor eats across a wide range of price points depending on which counter they choose. A family on the Big Cat full day can also simply select the lunch option at booking on the listings where it is offered, which usually beats island counter prices, and the fly-and-cruise and pontoon combo listings include a buffet lunch in the fare outright.
Marineland Melanesia, the crocodile and turtle attraction five minutes from the jetty, is open seven days from 9am to 4pm except Christmas Day, with wildlife shows at 10.30am and 1.30pm and turtle presentations at 10.20am and 1.20pm. Its entry fee applies separately and is not printed here because no verified source for the current price exists; check its own site before you go. The same honesty applies to the Turtle Rehabilitation Centre: the ceremonial first sod was turned in April 2026 with Queensland Government funding of A$600,000, and it is expected to be operational by December 2026, but it is not open today and cannot be visited on a current trip.
Is The Cheap Green Island Ticket Or The Package The Better Buy?
For most first-time visitors, the A$156 discovery fare is the better buy because it includes the glass-bottom boat and snorkel gear, beating the A$112 fare plus A$64 of island hire. The A$110 Big Cat full day is the pure cheapest full day, and packages above A$289 only pay off when a specific inclusion, like a buffet lunch, a dive, or a flight, is something you already wanted.
The way to decide is to price the day you actually intend to have, not the day the fare describes. A visitor who wants to snorkel, take the glass-bottom boat and eat a proper lunch will spend more in total on an A$110 fare plus island add-ons than on a bundled ticket, and will queue at counters to do it. A visitor who is happy on the beach, walking the boardwalk and swimming between the flags can take the cheapest fare, spend almost nothing extra, and have a complete day. Both are valid trips. They are simply different products at different price points, which is exactly why the Green Island tours compared here run from A$110 to A$429 rather than offering one fare.
The pattern holds on transfers too. The A$157 city-transfer listing is A$47 above the A$110 base fare and includes pickup, morning tea and the reef tax; buying Big Cat's coach separately is A$27 return, which is cheaper if you are travelling solo and staying in the city, but the bundle wins on certainty and includes the tax line. The Northern Beaches version at A$167 against a A$38 return coach follows the same logic. For more on the trade-offs, how long you should spend on Green Island is the companion question to this one, because duration is the other variable that changes what the money buys.
A last, often-forgotten point: the reef itself is in a reasonable stretch. The Australian Institute of Marine Science reported Northern Great Barrier Reef hard coral cover of 35.1% in its 2025/26 survey summary, up from 30.0% the year before and above the long-term average of 27.0%, with sea surface temperatures close to average through August according to the latest GBRMPA reef health update. Those are region-wide figures, not Green Island measurements, and no official Green Island-specific condition report exists, but they are the honest backdrop to any price you pay to get out there.

The short version of the whole ladder: A$110 to A$112 buys the crossing and the island; A$127 to A$167 adds activities and possibly transfers; A$196 to A$312 buys two islands, sailing, diving or the outer reef; A$429 buys the view from the air as well. Every figure here comes from the operators' published fares or the tour pages compared on this site. Re-check each price on the booking page before you commit, because fares in this market move with seasons and fuel. Green Island Great Barrier Reef Tours sets every option side by side if you want to run the comparison yourself.
Common Questions About Green Island Trip Costs
How Much Does It Cost To Go To Green Island From Cairns?
From A$110 per person for the cheapest cruise-only fares on the Big Cat cruises, up to from A$429 for the fly-and-cruise package. Activity-inclusive days sit between from A$127 and A$289, and the outer reef pontoon combo costs from A$312. All prices are per person in Australian dollars as shown on each tour's booking page.
Is lunch included in the cheap Green Island tickets?
Not in the base fares. The Big Cat listings treat lunch as an option you select or a purchase on the day, and the Great Adventures catamaran fare includes morning tea and coffee only, with island food bought on the island. The sailing days, the pontoon combo and the fly-and-cruise package do include a proper lunch in the fare.
Do I pay the reef tax on top of my ticket?
The Environmental Management Charge is A$8.50 per person for a full day and A$4.25 part-day, rising to A$9.00 and A$4.50 from 1 April 2027. Great Adventures includes it in its fares and the two Big Cat transfer listings list it as included. Where a listing is silent, check the booking page before assuming.
Which is cheaper, buying snorkel gear on the island or in the fare?
In the fare. Great Adventures publishes snorkel hire at A$32 and the glass-bottom boat at A$32 as island add-ons, while the discovery listing at from A$156 includes both plus the cruise, which beats the A$112 ferry-style fare plus A$64 of separate hire.
Are hotel transfers included in Green Island cruise prices?
Only on two listings: the Big Cat full day with city transfers at from A$157 and the Northern Beaches version at from A$167. Every other listing either excludes pickup or does not state it. Big Cat sells coach seats separately at A$27 adult return from the city and A$38 from the Northern Beaches.